The Meat-tox: Making a Good Habit out of a Bad one

A few weeks ago I had the absolute joy of going to Pula (Croatia) for a weeks holiday. Now, I went with the best intentions;  I was going to keep working out each day and stick to the meal plan…all I will say is that I came home 7lbs heavier (essentially putting all of my pre-transformation weight, plus some more, back on)…

It’s not that I was eating unhealthy food (quite the opposite), I just ate waaay too much of the good stuff. Part of that was meat, I ate A LOT of meat so, by the time I got home I decided I needed a few days meat-free.

So generally I eat meat every day, a good mix of fish, red and white meat. Since it’s pretty much tasty with minimal effort, I’m not especially adventurous with my cooking; so taking meat out of the equation has always made me nervous. What would I eat? A plate of raw veg for lunch and dinner? No thanks! So, with this in mind, I decided for 4 meat free days I had to make an effort and get some recipes. Cue ‘Womens Health’ ‘Eat Clean Get Lean’.

This Magazine/book hybrid, along with my Womens Health and Train magazines made this deep dive into vegetarianism  marvellous experience!

Here’s my Veggie Venture in Pictures!
Sweet Treats/Breakfasts: Raspberry Chia Pot and Apple Cinnamon 0% Fage yogurt

Salads/Lunches: Fig/Freekeh Salad (top/bottom left), Chilli Mango Salad (top right), Blackberry Feta Salad (Mid/Bottom Right) and Pea and Green Lentil Salad (Mid Bottom)

Down-right Awesome Dinners: Baked Sweet Potato and Balsamic Lentils (top left), Wild Rice Stuffed Squash (top right), Baked Potato with mixed Pulses (Mid Right), 4 Bean and Quinoa Chilli (Bottom Left), Aubergine and Chickpea Curry (Mid Bottom/Bottom Right)

Conclusions: First thoughts on this experience is that I am a damn good vegetarian cook, every meal turned out great and tasted wonderful! I enjoyed the experience so much that I decided to take up “Meat-Free Monday’s”.
Overall my meat-tox was an amazing and eye-opening experience. Vegetarian is an exceptionally varied and colourful diet that does encourage you to be more adventurous with your cooking. Admittedly it is tough to get your proteins naturally and keep the macro’s where you want them; but 110% I’d recommend putting a meat-free day into your meal plan!

(Also worth noting – by the end of my meat-tox I had lost 5lbs of my holiday weight, although I suspect some of it was water weight!)

Leave a Reply

