Food! My first breakfast on the Blog

This is the 1st of many things today; the first breakfast, first food photo, first review and the first item I’ve tried from my Box of Protein (https://www.boxofprotein.com/ i’ll review fully later but in short: seriously worth a look)

So here it is – Today I gave Chocolate Protein Porridge (MyProtein) a go.

IMG_4714

What is it?
It’s a ready mix sachet with oats, flavourings, Whey powder and some other things. My guess is the idea is it’s quick, easy, low calorie and protein packed

Macros Per 50g Sachet/Serving (minus mik/water):
Cals:197 | Fat: 3.89 | Carbs:23g | 16g

The Breakdown:

It’s speedy and definitely easy
I like breakfast to be a quick process in the mornings, the quicker it’s made and eaten, the chances of me catching the earlier tram to work increase, and this is pretty quick. You chuck it in a bowl, add your milk/water/whatever you choose to use,quick stir, microwave it for 90-120 secs and that’s it.

How is it tasting though?
Admitedly with Whey in there I had my doubts (whey can leave a horrible undertaste sometimes) but this is pretty nice, I taste chocolate rather than whey. For me though it’s not quite rich enough on the chocolate front. I like cocoa powder in my porridge normally so this feels a little like it’s slighthy sweeter and more artificial cousin. But that aside it’s a welcome and tasty discovery

IMG_4715

The final verdict?

It’s good but in truly bias fashion, i think my homemade version is nicer. When I make chocolate porridge myself it takes the same amount of time, has a richer flavour and is minus sweetners and thickening gum. Homemade has more calories and a less protein but has way more to give in my eyes.
So it’s definitely a worth a try but there’s more to gain from having a go at making your own!

Check out my Friday Breakfast favourite: Coconut, Chocolate and Banana Oatmeal/Porridge

Leave a Reply

